Car Insurance Policies in Florida

Auto Insurance Policies in Florida

People buy car insurance to protect their vehicles and themselves in the case of an accident. If their property is damaged or they are injured in an accident, the insurance company helps to offset the costs of recovery. The laws for automobile insurance vary by state and it is important to know what you are responsible for when obtaining coverage. 

Auto Insurance Requirements in Florida

Drivers in Florida are required to carry a minimum of:

Under Florida law, a driver is also liable for $10,000 in bodily injuries (including death) sustained by victims of the accident. It is recommended, but not required, for individuals to buy Bodily Injury Liability protection if they can't pay for these costs out of pocket. Insurance policies are customizable based on the amount of money you want to spend each year or problems you want to prevent. Individuals may buy additional coverage for the following:

Auto Insurance Policy Costs in Florida

The cost of an auto insurance policy varies with several factors, including:

  • Gender (generally in teenage years)
  • Age
  • Marital status
  • Vehicle classification
  • Annual driving distance estimates
  • Driving history
  • Location of residence

Discounts are available for safety features (such as airbags and anti-lock brake systems) and theft control systems. Additionally, some types of drivers, such as good students, may be eligible for discounts. These factors may affect the price of an insurance policy, but they are not justification for denial or discontinuation of coverage. If you have been discriminated against because of your gender, age, or any of the other above criteria when searching for an appropriate policy, contact an experienced insurance attorney to fight for your claim and help you gain the coverage you need. 

Florida No-Fault System

Florida is a no-fault state. This means that in the event of an accident, the injured driver's insurance company pays for their injuries rather than the at-fault driver's insurer. The system was designed to prevent minor injuries and disputes from turning into major lawsuits. Injured passengers may also be able to claim benefits under this law. Keep in mind that some insurance companies may seek subrogation if they've paid out on a claim they are not responsible for insuring. 

As with any insurance policy, it is important to review the terms of your automobile insurance policy to stay aware of your responsibilities and effective dates. The insurance attorneys at the Coye Law Firm can help you pursue a claim if your rights as a policy holder have been violated. We can also help you recover from accidents or injuries involving an automobile. 


Call 407.648.4940 or contact Coye Law Firm today for a free, private strategy session about your case.

The expert injury attorneys at Coye Law Firm are experienced with Florida, New York, Michigan, and District of Columbia law and are here to help the injured.

If you'd like to learn more about injury law and your rights, read my book, Sharing the Secrets, Learning the Lies: A Guide to Florida Personal Injury

From this book you will learn… Personal Injury Book for consumers

  1. The ONE THING you must do within 14 days of your accident (page 42)
  2. The two most important factors in determining case value (page 10)
  3. How to understand what your insurance will and will not cover (chapter 3)
  4. 6 critical steps you must take after an accident (page 65)
  5. Why you should not trust the insurance company’s repair shop (page 72)
  6. How to choose the right doctor (chapter 5)
  7. A claim you could make against your own insurance company if your car is damaged, but not totaled (page 86)
  8. The secrets to getting a fair settlement (chapter 10)
  9. An 8-step breakdown of the normal process for lawsuits (page 109)
  10. The one 4-letter word that might cost you (chapter 12)
  11. How to start gathering the most important evidence you need (page 75)
  12. …and more!

Click here to receive your FREE copy now.