Getting a Florida Drivers License

What is it Like to be a First-Time Driver in Florida?

Getting a driver's license can be both exciting and confusing. The immense responsibility can be overwhelming when you know that you could be at fault for an accident. In these situations, knowing your legal rights and responsibilities is important. Consult an experienced car accident attorney for effective representation for adult and teen drivers in Florida. 

The Different Types of Florida Driver's Licenses

The state of Florida has a graduated driver's license system, allowing new drivers time to experience various driving situations behind the wheel before being issued the full responsibility of handling the roadways. This gradual integration allows new drivers time to learn the specific laws and safety regulations of driving through coursework, testing, and applied driving demonstrations. 

1) Class E Learners Permit

Teen drivers are eligible to be issued a Class E Learners permit at 15 years of age. The applicant will complete a written test at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in order to prove basic knowledge necessary a driver's future success, such as seatbelt laws and basic vehicle parts (turn signals, gear shift, speedometer, etc). No actual driving is necessary at this point.

While in possession of this permit, a teenage driver may operate a vehicle if accompanied by an adult over 21 years old with a valid license, and must complete the following in the next 12 months to apply for a driver's license: 
  • At least 50 hours practice driving, 10 of which must be at night.
  • Attend a drug and alcohol awareness class.
  • Receive no citations during their practice driving, or must attend traffic driving school to remain eligible to apply for a license.

2) Class E Driver's License

After the requirements of the learner's permit have been met, and after the designated 12 month period has elapsed, the learner may apply for a Class E Florida Driver's License. To receive the license the applicant must present 2 legal forms of identification before passing both a written and practical exam which test the applicant's skill at theoretical and real world driving scenarios. The applicant will also be subject to a hearing and vision test to ensure that they are physically capable of safe driving awareness. 

Some of the skills and tasks on the driver's license tests are: 
  • Shifting gears.
  • Parking.
  • Stopping quickly.
  • Turning the vehicle around.
  • Proper procedures at intersections (both stop signs & lights) and during lane changes.

Visit the Florida DMV website to learn more specifics of the driver's license test. 

Obeying safety rules and regulations while driving is important. If you or someone you know has been injured in a car accident, an experienced auto accident attorney may be able to help you with legal advice in processing an insurance claim.

Driver's Licenses For New Florida Residents

If you have an out-of-state driver's license and recently moved to Florida or you are planning on relocating, you may be able to avoid having to take a written or road test and might simply convert your current license into a Florida license. Contact the DMV closest to your new Florida address to learn about getting a driver's license when you move to Florida. 

How Do I Reinstate A Suspended Driver's License?

If your drivers license has been suspended for violations, you will be issued a date to apply to reinstate your license. There may be educational or other requirements as stipulations of your license's suspension and you should have a full understanding of this before attempting to have your license reinstated. For more information on reinstated a suspended license, visit the Florida DMW page


Call 407.648.4940 or contact Coye Law Firm today for a free, private strategy session about your case.

The expert injury attorneys at Coye Law Firm are experienced with Florida, New York, Michigan, and District of Columbia law and are here to help the injured.

If you'd like to learn more about injury law and your rights, read my book, Sharing the Secrets, Learning the Lies: A Guide to Florida Personal Injury

From this book you will learn… Personal Injury Book for consumers

  1. The ONE THING you must do within 14 days of your accident (page 42)
  2. The two most important factors in determining case value (page 10)
  3. How to understand what your insurance will and will not cover (chapter 3)
  4. 6 critical steps you must take after an accident (page 65)
  5. Why you should not trust the insurance company’s repair shop (page 72)
  6. How to choose the right doctor (chapter 5)
  7. A claim you could make against your own insurance company if your car is damaged, but not totaled (page 86)
  8. The secrets to getting a fair settlement (chapter 10)
  9. An 8-step breakdown of the normal process for lawsuits (page 109)
  10. The one 4-letter word that might cost you (chapter 12)
  11. How to start gathering the most important evidence you need (page 75)
  12. …and more!

Click here to receive your FREE copy now.