Florida Car Insurance RequirementsCar insurance varies from state to state. Florida uses the No-Fault Law, which is designed to protect insured drivers regardless of who is at fault. The insurance law requires a minimum of $10,000 for property damage liability and $10,000 in personal injury protection.
When a passenger is injured while in a car accident, regardless of who is at fault, they may have a right to file a claim with their companion driver's insurance company. If the passenger owns their own car or lives with an adult relative who owns a car, then their personal injury protection coverage will cover their own injuries. If not, then they can file a claim under the insurance policy that insures the car they were riding in. In some circumstances, the passenger can file a claim for benefits from the at-fault driver's insurance company. If these injuries were to occur, you should contact the Coye Law Firm to assist in filling your claim against the insurance carrier.
Passenger ExclusionsThere are some exclusions when it comes to passengers claiming benefits from another person's personal injury protection coverage. If the passenger: Overall, there are many ins and outs of filing an insurance claim. There are also many questions you have and answers that you need. With all the stress already put on your from the actual accident, let the Coye Law Firm assist in the legal issues involving your crash and any further questions you have. Contact us today for a free consultation.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: What happens if I was injured in a car accident as a passenger and I don't have insurance?
A: If you were injured and don't have any type of personal injury insurance, you may file a claim against the driver's insurance company who you were riding in the car with.
Q: What happens if I was injured in a car accident and I have my own personal injury insurance but it's not enough to cover my injuries?
A: If you were injured and your insurance will cover some but not all of the medical costs, you can then file a claim for bodily injury benefits from the at-fault driver. If those benefits are not available, then you may be able to get benefits under the uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage on the policy of the person you were driving with.
Q: What if I was injured in a car accident and I don't have my own insurance but I live with a relative who has a vehicle?
A: If you live with an adult relative that has a Florida registered vehicle, then you may be covered under their personal injury protection coverage.
Q: What if I was injured in a car accident and my spouse was driving and our insurance has a family exclusion?
A: As Florida is a state which does not allow for spousal immunity you may be able to proceed with litigation against your spouse or your insurance company, depending on your circumstances.