Required CoverageThe current no fault insurance system is sometimes confusing. Instead of the at-fault driver or their insurance company paying for a victim's injuries, the victim's own insurance company pays for them up to the required minimum coverage of $10,000 Personal Injury Protection (P.I.P.) In addition to P.I.P. coverage, an additional $10,000 is expected to cover a driver in the event of property damage. This system is designed to make the payment faster and allow the victim to recover faster. The system, however, limits the victim's rights to pursue lawsuits.
Every driver and car owner in the state of Florida is required to have coverage including $10,000 P.I.P. Exceptions to this rule include vehicles used as taxicabs, limousines, or school buses. Additionally, vehicles with less than four wheels, i.e. motorcycles, and those not self-propelled, i.e. mobile homes or inoperable vehicles, don't require P.I.P. coverage. These vehicles are subject to separate insurance rules.
If an uninsured driver is in a car accident, they are not protected from a law suit and they can be held personally liable for the victim's damages and injuries over their $10,000 protection. Personal Injury Protection covers the driver (usually the owner) and passenger in an accident. It also provides coverage for the owner's relatives that may be driving the vehicle. The victim has 35 days to submit their medical bills if they are seeking compensation for their injuries. If the insurance company receives notice from the physician within 21 days of medical treatment is beginning, they can take up to 75 days to submit medical bills.
Some frequently asked questions about no fault insurance and accidents are answered at the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
It is very important that paperwork is filed with correct information and on time when dealing with a car accident. Making sure that the police report and insurance communications are accurate can save you time in your recovery. The no-fault insurance attorneys of Coye Law Firm can help explain your rights if you are involved in a car accident and have no-fault insurance. Your medical care and property damage may exceed the $10,000 coverages. If this is the case, experienced legal counsel from the Coye Law Firm can help you reclaim more damages for your recovery. Call our offices today.