Benefits for Personal Injury Victims in Florida

What Benefits Are Available for Personal Injury Victims?

If a personal injury case is settled or won at trial, monetary compensation may be paid to you by the person or company that caused you the injury. They may be required to compensate you for:

 

The severity of the injury and damage impacts compensation. If you played any part in contributing to the accident that resulted in your injury, then your compensation may also reflect that. Victims may be able to collect punitive damages, if the jury believes that the defendant needs to be discouraged from displaying negligent behavior in the future.

Under Florida comparative negligence law, your actions may reduce the amount awarded to you for your personal injury. 

For example, if you were driving a car and a motorcyclist attempted to cut you off and you to hit them because of that, this is takeninto consideration in court. The motorcyclist's actions contributed to the reason you accidentally hit them. 

In Florida, this law allows a jury to lower the amount of the damages by the amount the victim contributed to his or her own injuries. If the motorcyclist suffered $10,000 in damages but they were found at fault for 50% of the accident, then their award may be lowered to $5,000.

Time Frame for Personal Injury Claims in Florida

Florida Statute §95.11 states that the party that was injured has a total of four years to take the person or company that injured them to court. This is the statue of limitations for personal injury claims in Florida. Wrongful death claims, on the other hand, have a statute of limitations of two years.


Call 407.648.4940 or contact Coye Law Firm today for a free, private strategy session about your case.

The expert injury attorneys at Coye Law Firm are experienced with Florida, New York, Michigan, and District of Columbia law and are here to help the injured.

If you'd like to learn more about injury law and your rights, read my book, Sharing the Secrets, Learning the Lies: A Guide to Florida Personal Injury

From this book you will learn… Personal Injury Book for consumers

  1. The ONE THING you must do within 14 days of your accident (page 42)
  2. The two most important factors in determining case value (page 10)
  3. How to understand what your insurance will and will not cover (chapter 3)
  4. 6 critical steps you must take after an accident (page 65)
  5. Why you should not trust the insurance company’s repair shop (page 72)
  6. How to choose the right doctor (chapter 5)
  7. A claim you could make against your own insurance company if your car is damaged, but not totaled (page 86)
  8. The secrets to getting a fair settlement (chapter 10)
  9. An 8-step breakdown of the normal process for lawsuits (page 109)
  10. The one 4-letter word that might cost you (chapter 12)
  11. How to start gathering the most important evidence you need (page 75)
  12. …and more!

Click here to receive your FREE copy now.