The Coye Law Firm's accident lawyer team works hard to recover benefits for your medical bills, lost wages, and other expenses that result from your car accident. Call our offices to schedule a free consultation with someone who can inform you of your rights and guide you through the Florida no fault system.
Who P.I.P. CoversIf you live in Florida and own a motor vehicle, you must purchase P.I.P. If you are the named insured on the policy, then your own P.I.P. pays for your injuries if you are hurt in a car accident, whether you are a driver or passenger of your own car or anyone else's. Relatives who live with you can qualify for benefits under your personal injury protection, as well as others who are injured while driving or riding in your insured car with your permission.
If your relative or friend has their own personal injury protection policy because they own a car in Florida, then their own insurance company pays for their injuries even if they are driving or riding in your car.
Some drivers are not required to have personal injury protection for themselves or passengers in specific vehicles. These vehicles include:
Minimum Requirements for Florida Car Insurance CoverageFlorida drivers must have at least $10,000 in personal injury protection coverage. Additionally, they need to have an additional $10,000 in coverage for any property damage they may cause. These are just minimums, however, and may not be able to pay for all of your injuries or lost wages that result from a serious accident.
When you purchase car insurance coverage, it is important to consider the overwhelming medical bills and lost wages that can occur as a result of a catastrophic auto accident. There are certain limitations to PIP that you should also be aware of. If a medical expert determines an injury is a “non-emergency” than your P.I.P coverage for medical expenses is limited to $2,500. Also, certain treatment options are excluded from coverage, including acupuncture and massage therapy. After you make your decision, an accident lawyer at the Coye Law Firm will work to pursue all benefits available under your P.I.P. policy.
Benefits from P.I.P.If you're hurt in a car accident, even if it was your fault, you'll probably need medical attention. P.I.P. pays up to 80% of your medical bills or expenses if you use qualified treatment. This includes medically necessary: You have 35 days to submit documentation and bills regarding your medical treatment to your insurance company and you have 14 days to seek medical treatment following an accident. The insurance company can avoid paying for your injuries if these deadlines are not met. If the car accident results in the insured driver's death, then their estate is entitled to $5,000 in death benefits.
A Lawyer's Edge
Personal injury protection is supposed to protect you from the unexpected medical bills and stress of lost wages after an accident. But if your insurance company is disputing your claim or not paying the full benefits you are entitled to, then you need an insurance lawyer on your side.
The Coye Law Firm's accident attorneys take care of your medical bills and communicate with insurance companies while you focus on treatment and recovery from a car accident. You shouldn't have to deal with the additional stress of deadlines and paperwork while you are injured.
Call our Orlando office to eliminate some of the stress that comes with filing an insurance claim after a car accident. Our offices are ready and willing to discuss your claim in a free consultation, where we'll inform you of your rights and qualified benefits. Contact us today.