Protecting Teen Drivers with the STANDUP Act

Driving can be a dangerous activity if the driver becomes distracted or meets other road hazards. New and experienced drivers alike can compromise their safety on the road by being distracted by their phones, the radio, or passengers. In an effort to curb new drivers from becoming distracted and causing harm to themselves or others, legislators have introduced the STANDUP Act.

The Coye Law Firm fights for families. Our accident attorneys want to help individuals and families with teenage drivers recover benefits they may be entitled to under the law. Learn more about the STANDUP Act by reading our article below. If you are dealing with a car accident caused by texting or any other distraction, call our accident law firm today.
 

What is the STANDUP Act?

"3,466 teenagers between the ages of 13 and 19 died in car accidents during 2009." The Safe Teen and Novice Driver Uniform Protection (STANDUP) Act, also known as H.R. 1895, was introduced in 2009 by New York state representative Timothy Bishop. According to OpenCongress.org , this bill would create graduated drivers licenses (GDLs) that are uniform among all of the states. The bill proposes that licensing standards are divided into two stages.

Stage one:
 
  • the driver is issued a learners permit at age 16 or older.
  • the driver cannot use their cell phone in the car except for emergencies.
  • the driver cannot drive at night.
Stage two (when the driver reaches 18 years old):
 
  • the driver is not allowed to have more than one unrelated passenger under age 21 in their vehicle.
  • the driver is not allowed to drive at night.
  • the driver is not allowed to use a cell phone in the vehicle except for emergencies.
According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety , 3,466 teenagers between the ages of 13 and 19 died in car accidents during 2009. Their statistics also show that most fatal car accidents involving teens occurred on the weekends and at night. Additionally, the leading cause of death in the teenage group is motor vehicle accidents.

More information about the STANDUP Act can be found at saferoads4teens.org .
 

Florida's Current Teen Driver Regulations

Florida Statute §322.1615 states that a person must be at least 15 years old to obtain a learners permit in Florida. Additionally, the driver must hold a learners permit for at least 12 months before being issued a driver's license. Aside from the educational courses that new drivers are required to attend, there are not many hurdles to getting a driver's license in Florida. You can visit our accompanying webpage to find out more about the current process of getting a driver's license in Florida .

The STANDUP Act would create big changes to licensing standards in Florida. It would make it illegal for some teens to use their cell phones while driving, to have certain passengers, and to drive at night. 

It can be incredibly nerve-racking for parents to allow their children to drive. Teen drivers make up a significant part of the population, and lawmakers are trying to protect them by introducing the STANDUP act to Congress.

If you find that your teen was involved in a car accident, call the Coye Law Firm. Our accident attorneys want to help you and your family recover emotionally, physically, and financially. Talk to a member of our staff by calling 800-648-4941 today.