Bicycle Accident Attorney in Orlando

If you were injured in a bicycle accident in Florida, you can hold someone else responsible for your injuries if you can prove they had a legal duty to exercise reasonable care for your wellbeing and failed to do so.

What Happens if a Bicyclist or Pedestrian is Hit by a Car?

The driver can face fines, points off their license, and even harsher punishment if they violate the law and cause serious injury or even death.

Pedestrians may be able to claim medical benefits from their car insurance company if they own a car or if someone they live with owns a car. Personal injury protection (PIP) can provide medical payments to the insured if they were injured by a car while driving, walking, or riding a bicycle.

What if I Wasn’t Wearing a Helmet? 

First of all, you need to know: if you are over 16 years old you are not required to wear a helmet in Florida. Failure to wear a helmet will not hinder your compensation but may affect the amount you receive. It is wise to take every precaution in your case and any act that could be perceived as negligent should be avoided.

What if it Was a Hit-and-Run?

If you were hit by a car and the driver fled the scene after the collision, there are four things you should do in order to ensure you receive compensation for your injuries.

1) File a Police Report as Soon as Possible

It may seem hopeless to contact the police once the driver has fled, however, the police have many resources they can use to find the offender. Even if the driver cannot be located, insurance companies will likely require a documented police report in order for you to be compensated.

2) Get Medical Help Immediately

Nothing is more important than your personal health, and ignoring injuries can actually hurt your case. While getting back on your bicycle in spite of painful injuries may actually be an act of mental toughness, insurance adjusters will not view it as such, saying, “If you were so badly injured, why didn’t you see a doctor?”

3) Locate Witnesses

Get the contact information of any that may have witnessed the accident or pulled over to help after the driver fled. It may help you find compensation.

4) Inform Your Auto and Health Insurance Companies

In some cases, your only chance of receiving compensation may be filing a claim against your car insurance policy. In order to insure you receive justice, take all necessary precautions and file a claim.


Call 407.648.4940 or click to contact Coye Law Firm today for a free, private strategy session about your case.

The expert injury lawyers at Coye Law Firm are experienced with Florida, New York, Michigan, and District of Columbia law and are here to help the injured.

If you'd like to learn 37 secrets and 19 lies about injury law, read my book, Sharing the Secrets, Learning the Lies: A Guide to Florida Personal Injury

From my book, you will learn… Personal Injury Book for consumers

  • The two most important factors in determining case value (page 10)
  • The one thing you must do within 14 days of your accident (page 42)
  • How to understand what your insurance will and will not cover (chapter 3)
  • 6 critical steps you must take after an accident (page 65)
  • Why you should not trust the insurance company’s repair shop (page 72)
  • How to choose the right doctor (chapter 5)
  • A claim you could make against your own insurance company if your car is damaged, but not totaled (page 86)
  • The secrets to getting a fair settlement (chapter 10)
  • An 8-step breakdown of the normal process for lawsuits (page 109)
  • The one 4-letter word that might cost you (chapter 12)
  • How to start gathering the most important evidence you need (page 75)

…and more! Click here to receive your FREE copy now.