Your Personal Injury, Workers' Comp, Disability and Family Law Concerns Put to Rest

Even a minor accident can cause physical and financial confusion, worries, and setbacks. Allow us to help answer your questions and put your concerns to bed, so you can focus on your recovery. Why wait any longer to get the answers you need? Click here and see how our knowledge, advice, and experience can help you.

  • Page 1
  • Frequently Asked Questions about Young Workers' Compensation

    I'm 19 and I was recently injured at work, what are my options?

    Younger workers are given special consideration when the average weekly wage is computed to arrive at a lost wages settlement. People under 22 years can expect to have their wages increase at rates faster than older workers, so their injuries may impede upon this. Therefore, reasonable measures are taken to compute the average weekly wage. An attorney can help to explain this process and make the computations according to the law.

     

     

     

    • Do You Still Have Questions?

    Call 407.648.4940 or contact Coye Law Firm today for a free consultation about your case.

    The expert injury attorneys at Coye Law Firm are experienced with Florida, New York, Michigan, and District of Columbia law and are here to help the injured.

    Discover POWERFUL SECRETS and COMMON LIES of Florida Workers' Compensation 


    If you are someone you know is struggling with the workers' comp process, get a FREE hard copy of my workers' compensation book and you will be squared away in no time!

    From my book you will learn...

    • The one thing you MUST do within 30 days of a work injury (page 16)
    • How to fill out a First Report of Injury form (page 20)
    • The first step you need to take to receive wage loss benefits (page 54)
    • What medical decisions your employer can make for you (page 26)
    • How to protect your benefits after being placed on light duty (page 38)
    • How to deal with rude workers' compensation doctors (page 39)
    • Disastrous workers' comp traps to avoid (page 83)
    • Others methods to pay for your medical costs (page 45)
    • What "maximum medical improvement" means for a claimant (page 63)
    • ...and much more.

    To receive your FREE copy, click here

  • Frequently Asked Questions about Workers Compensation and Your Lifetime Job

    What if my injury prevents me from doing my lifetime job?

    The law provides employees an outlet for retraining and job opportunities. If you have been injured on the job so severely that you cannot return, you can work with the Florida Division of Vocational Rehabilitation office to explore your options. The workers' compensation section has a brief overview of what the division offers. You can find vocational counseling, job seeking skills, on-the-job training, job placement and retraining opportunities through the web site.

     

     

    • Do You Still Have Questions?

    Call 407.648.4940 or contact Coye Law Firm today for a free consultation about your case.

    The expert injury attorneys at Coye Law Firm are experienced with Florida, New York, Michigan, and District of Columbia law and are here to help the injured.

    Discover POWERFUL SECRETS and COMMON LIES of Florida Workers' Compensation 


    If you are someone you know is struggling with the workers' comp process, get a FREE hard copy of my workers' compensation book and you will be squared away in no time!

    From my book you will learn...

    • The one thing you MUST do within 30 days of a work injury (page 16)
    • How to fill out a First Report of Injury form (page 20)
    • The first step you need to take to receive wage loss benefits (page 54)
    • What medical decisions your employer can make for you (page 26)
    • How to protect your benefits after being placed on light duty (page 38)
    • How to deal with rude workers' compensation doctors (page 39)
    • Disastrous workers' comp traps to avoid (page 83)
    • Others methods to pay for your medical costs (page 45)
    • What "maximum medical improvement" means for a claimant (page 63)
    • ...and much more.

    To receive your FREE copy, click here

  • Frequently Asked Questions about Workers' Compensation Terms

    How much will I get paid? Can I get a settlement?

    Consult a workers' compensation attorney at the Coye Law Firm to determine how much your claim is worth. After you discuss what happened, they will be able to give you a more complete picture of the benefits you can receive under the law. Most benefit checks are paid bi-weekly and are for 2/3 of your average weekly wage. A settlement needs important consideration of your injuries, future wages, and reemployment in order to help you recover.

    If you are in the process of filing bankruptcy or need to declare bankruptcy after receiving a worker's compensation claim, it is highly important that you speak with your worker's compensation attorney before speaking with a bankruptcy lawyer. The worker's comp payments or settlement should be exempt from debt collection and creditors, but could be considered "income" and complicate your situation.

    Can I be reimbursed for the cost of driving to my doctor appointments?

    If your doctor appointment is related to your workers' compensation injury, you can have the mileage reimbursed by your employer. Consult a workers' compensation attorney from the Coye Law Firm to learn how to be reimbursed for your mileage.

    What do "MMI," "IR," "TPD," "TTD," and "PTD" stand for?

    MMI means "Maximum Medical Improvement" and is used to determine when benefits should stop being paid to the injured employee. IR means "Impairment Rating," TPD means "Temporary Partial Disability," TTD means "Temporary Total Disability," and PTD means "Permanent Total Disability." All of these categories are used to determine an injured worker's benefits. When a worker reaches MMI, their workers' compensation benefits stop. However, the doctor assesses an impairment rating, which determines the amount of benefits they may continue to receive.

    What about the wages I lose while being out of work? Do I get paid for those too?

    Depending on the severity of your injury, you are eligible to receive between 66 2/3% and 80% of your average weekly wage in addition to having your medical bills paid by the employer's insurance carrier. Consult an attorney at the Coye Law Firm to determine your lost wages compensation rate and get the most benefits you can.

    How do taxes work with workers compensation benefits?

    You do not pay taxes on benefit checks. However, if you go back to work on a trial basis and earn wages while receiving a benefits check, you are required to pay taxes on the wages earned. Visit our section on income taxes to learn more.

    Call 407.648.4940 or contact Coye Law Firm today for a free consultation about your case.

    The expert injury attorneys at Coye Law Firm are experienced with Florida, New York, Michigan, and District of Columbia law and are here to help the injured.

    Discover POWERFUL SECRETS and COMMON LIES of Florida Workers' Compensation 


    If you are someone you know is struggling with the workers' comp process, get a FREE hard copy of my workers' compensation book and you will be squared away in no time!

    From my book you will learn...

    • The one thing you MUST do within 30 days of a work injury (page 16)
    • How to fill out a First Report of Injury form (page 20)
    • The first step you need to take to receive wage loss benefits (page 54)
    • What medical decisions your employer can make for you (page 26)
    • How to protect your benefits after being placed on light duty (page 38)
    • How to deal with rude workers' compensation doctors (page 39)
    • Disastrous workers' comp traps to avoid (page 83)
    • Others methods to pay for your medical costs (page 45)
    • What "maximum medical improvement" means for a claimant (page 63)
    • ...and much more.

    To receive your FREE copy, click here

  • Frequently Asked Questions about Workers Compensation Mediation

    Can there be more than one mediation?

    At the end of mediation, the mediator prepares a report stating which issues have been resolved and which ones need further discussion. Mediation is an attempt for all of the issues to be resolved before going to a trial, but if they aren't, then taking the disagreement before a judge is the next step.
    Discussing your concerns with an attorney at the Coye Law Firm is the best way to get the benefits you need and in a timely manner. Our attorneys and staff are dedicated to working with injured workers through every level of their claims. 

    Do I have to be present at mediation?

    According to the rules outlined on the JCC web site , you have to show good reason for not being present at the mediation. If you are from out of the area, you can be connected to the meeting by the telephone or a video conference on the Internet. These other means of communication must be approved by the mediator in advance of the meeting. 

    What if we reach a compromise before mediation?

    With the help of a lawyer, it is possible that your employer and their insurance company will agree to your requests before mediation takes place. If this is the case, and you accept all terms of the agreement, all parties need to notify the mediator and judge in writing before the meeting. 

    What should I bring to mediation?

    Your attorney will prepare you on what to bring and what to say in mediation well before the meeting takes place. It may be helpful to bring medical bills, prescription receipts, copies of paperwork filed with the state, and other documents to prove that your injury was work-related. These documents will be kept confidential as will the mediation's transcript. 

    What if I don't think the mediator is being fair?

    Mediation is designed to help parties reach a compromised solution to their issues. You do not need to accept the terms of any agreement if you and your attorney don't consider them fair. Additionally, any party in the mediation can request that the mediator be disqualified. The request must be submitted to the judge, include specific reasons for disqualification, and the name of a substitute mediator. An experienced workers' compensation attorney from the Coye Law Firm knows the behavior and judgement expected of a mediator and can help you determine if they are truly impartial. 

     

    Call 407.648.4940 or contact Coye Law Firm today for a free consultation about your case.

    The expert injury attorneys at Coye Law Firm are experienced with Florida, New York, Michigan, and District of Columbia law and are here to help the injured.

    Discover POWERFUL SECRETS and COMMON LIES of Florida Workers' Compensation 


    If you are someone you know is struggling with the workers' comp process, get a FREE hard copy of my workers' compensation book and you will be squared away in no time!

    From my book you will learn...

    • The one thing you MUST do within 30 days of a work injury (page 16)
    • How to fill out a First Report of Injury form (page 20)
    • The first step you need to take to receive wage loss benefits (page 54)
    • What medical decisions your employer can make for you (page 26)
    • How to protect your benefits after being placed on light duty (page 38)
    • How to deal with rude workers' compensation doctors (page 39)
    • Disastrous workers' comp traps to avoid (page 83)
    • Others methods to pay for your medical costs (page 45)
    • What "maximum medical improvement" means for a claimant (page 63)
    • ...and much more.

    To receive your FREE copy, click here

     

  • Frequently Asked Questions about Your Workers Compensation Doctor

    Can I choose my own doctor? What if I don't like the one that I choose?

    Workers compensation must authorize a doctor for injured workers to begin treatment. Workers are not permitted to choose a doctor, but if they are dissatisfied with the one authorized, they are allowed to change doctors one time. Exercising this right can depend on timing and circumstances, so it is important to consult an experienced workers comp lawyer at the Coye Law Firm before making this decision.

    I work at a supermarket. I became injured after I slipped and fell on some liquid a customer dropped. Can I claim workers' compensation benefits to offset my medical bills?

    Workers' compensation claims are filed when a worker is injured during the "course and scope" of their employment. This means that if they are performing tasks that their employer requests and become injured, they can file a claim regardless of the source of injury. In the grocery store case, an employee can file a claim even if their employer wasn't the one who posed the danger and they experienced a workplace accident.

    Do I have to pay for my medical treatment?

    If the system is working correctly, you shouldn't have to pay for treatment yourself. The medical provider submits the medical bills to your employer's insurance company, who in turn pays the bills.

    Do I need health insurance in order to pay for treatment?

    You should only be concerned with paying for your own medical treatment if you've settled your claim. If an injured worker's injuries need medical attention after the claim has been settled, it is their responsibility to pay for them through health insurance or some other method.

    Another employee was playing a joke when I fell and broke my arm. Do I have a claim?

    If you were performing duties within the scope of your job, then most likely. The statute specifies that deviation from employment is not covered in a workers' compensation claim, but every circumstance is different. contact a workmans' compensation attorney at the Coye Law Firm to determine if you have a case.

    • Do You Still Have Questions?

    Call 407.648.4940 or contact Coye Law Firm today for a free consultation about your case.

    The expert injury attorneys at Coye Law Firm are experienced with Florida, New York, Michigan, and District of Columbia law and are here to help the injured.

    Discover POWERFUL SECRETS and COMMON LIES of Florida Workers' Compensation 


    If you are someone you know is struggling with the workers' comp process, get a FREE hard copy of my workers' compensation book and you will be squared away in no time!

    From my book you will learn...

    • The one thing you MUST do within 30 days of a work injury (page 16)
    • How to fill out a First Report of Injury form (page 20)
    • The first step you need to take to receive wage loss benefits (page 54)
    • What medical decisions your employer can make for you (page 26)
    • How to protect your benefits after being placed on light duty (page 38)
    • How to deal with rude workers' compensation doctors (page 39)
    • Disastrous workers' comp traps to avoid (page 83)
    • Others methods to pay for your medical costs (page 45)
    • What "maximum medical improvement" means for a claimant (page 63)
    • ...and much more.

    To receive your FREE copy, click here

  • Frequently Asked Questions about the Workers' Compensation Process

    I've been injured at work. What is the very first thing I need to do in order to begin the workers' compensation claim process?

    workers compensation attorney lawyer frequently asked questions about workers comp process in Florida will I be fired

    After being injured at work, the first thing you should do is notify your employer or supervisor and file a First Report of Injury or Illness form with your employer. 

    How long after my injury do I have to report it?

    Report your injury to your employer as soon as possible. You have up to 30 days from the injury or 30 days from when your doctor says your injury is work-related to report it. Your claim may be denied if you don't report in time.

    Will I lose my job if I file a workers' compensation claim?

    Your employer cannot fire you for filing a workers' compensation claim. Protection from retaliation is a part of the workers' compensation law in Florida. However, depending on the severity of your injury and the nature of your work, you might not be able to return to work. Additionally, the employer is not required to keep your job open for you to come back.

    I haven't heard anything about my benefits claim and I sent them notice a month ago. What's going on?

    According to the workers compensation laws, "The carrier must pay, disallow, or deny all medical, dental, pharmacy, and hospital bills submitted to the carrier in accordance with department rule no later than 45 calendar days after the carrier's receipt of the bill." Consulting your attorney or employer may help to expedite the process.

    Do I need an attorney for my workers' compensation claim?

    You need an attorney in order to receive the maximum benefits you are entitled to under the law. Coye Law Firm is experienced in the workers' compensation system and can help you sort through medical benefits, lost wages, and other sources of financial assistance. Although one is not required by law, an attorney knows the methods, reasons, and small details that go into calculating a settlement for your full benefits. Call the workers comp lawyer team at the Coye Law Firm today.

    How much does it cost to hire an attorney for my workers' compensation claim?

    Florida law places a limit on the amount that an attorney representing an injured person can collect in a worker's compensation claim. The specifics of Florida law have changed over the years. Depending on the date of your injury, the cost can vary and the only way to know for sure is to discuss your situation with an experienced worker's comp attorney.

    Can my mental illness be attributed to hazards in the workplace? If so, can I file a workers' compensation claim?

    It depends. If your mental injuries are accompanied and caused by physical injuries, you may be able to claim benefits to remedy this problem. There are many exceptions, however. If depression results from being out of work, it is not compensable. The statute can be reviewed here.

    What is a Petition for Benefits?

    A petition for benefits is a form that the employee or claimant files in order to demand benefits be paid. This involves state government in your claim. If you choose to file a petition for benefits, it requires that a mediation conference take place. In order to protect your benefits and legal rights, you need a workers compensation attorney from the Coye Law Firm if your benefits are being denied. Florida law protects injured workers, so don't settle your claim without consulting one of our experienced attorneys.

    Call 407.648.4940 or contact Coye Law Firm today for a free consultation about your case.

    The expert injury attorneys at Coye Law Firm are experienced with Florida, New York, Michigan, and District of Columbia law and are here to help the injured.

  • Can there be more than one mediation?

    At the end of mediation, the mediator prepares a report stating which issues have been resolved and which ones need further discussion. Mediation is an attempt for all of the issues to be resolved before going to a trial, but if they aren't, then taking the disagreement before a judge is the next step.

    Discussing your concerns with an attorney at the Coye Law Firm is the best way to get the benefits you need and in a timely manner. Our attorneys and staff are dedicated to working with injured workers through every level of their claims. 

     

  • What if we reach a compromise before mediation?

    With the help of a lawyer, it is possible that your employer and their insurance company will agree to your requests before mediation takes place. If this is the case, and you accept all terms of the agreement, all parties need to notify the mediator and judge in writing before the meeting. 

     

  • What should I bring to mediation?

    Your attorney will prepare you on what to bring and what to say in mediation well before the meeting takes place. It may be helpful to bring medical bills, prescription receipts, copies of paperwork filed with the state, and other documents to prove that your injury was work-related. These documents will be kept confidential as will the mediation's transcript. 

     

  • What if I don't think the mediator is being fair?

    Mediation is designed to help parties reach a compromised solution to their issues. You do not need to accept the terms of any agreement if you and your attorney don't consider them fair. Additionally, any party in the mediation can request that the mediator be disqualified. The request must be submitted to the judge, include specific reasons for disqualification, and the name of a substitute mediator. An experienced workers' compensation attorney from the Coye Law Firm knows the behavior and judgement expected of a mediator and can help you determine if they are truly impartial.